This ancient English agreement between King Alfred of Wessex (871-899) and Guthrum, Viking king of eastern Anglia (d. 889/90), cannot be dated with certainty. He established the border between their kingdoms and regulated relations between the English and Danish subjects of the two kings in criminal and judicial matters and guaranteed. Over time, the Vikings took control of several Anglo-Saxon kingdoms. Eventually, the Anglo-Saxons and Vikings reached a peace agreement, but the fighting lasted many years. In 866, the Great Danish Army landed at East Anglia with the intention of conquering all the English kingdoms. During their campaign, the Viking army conquered the kingdoms of East Anglia, Mercia and Northumbria, and although they first invaded the kingdom of Wessex, Danish King Guthrum was defeated by Alfred`s army at the Battle of Edington in 878. [1] After his surrender, Guthrum had to be baptized a short time later, then left Wessex with his army. The agreement under which Guthrum surrendered, was baptized and agreed to leave Wessex is known as the Wedmore Contract. [3] The Treaty of Alfred and Guthrum is a peace agreement between Alfred von Wessex and Guthrum, the Viking lord of East Anglia. He fixed the boundaries between the territories of Alfred and Guthrum as well as the agreements on peaceful trade and the golden value of his people. Peacekeeping was an important feature of Anglo-Saxon law. Peace was seen as the rule of an authority within a given region.

The last authority being the king, there has been a gradual development of strict rules and rules against the violation of the royal peace. The most powerful Anglo-Saxon king was Edgar. The Welsh and Scottish leaders obeyed him, as did the English, and his Winchester farm was one of the most magnificent in Europe. Anglo-Saxon England reached its peak during Edgar`s reign. Duke Wilhelm of Normandy and Harald Hardrada, King of Norway, were not satisfied with the decision. They thought they were entitled to the throne. Anglo-Saxon law, the Inengland from the 6th century to the Norman conquest (1066) the law. In connection with Scandinavian law and the so-called barbaric laws (leges barbarorum) of continental Europe, it consisted of German law. Anglo-Saxon law was written in the popular language and was relatively free from the Roman influence found in continental laws written in Latin.

The Roman influence on Anglo-Saxon law was indirect and was exercised mainly by the Church. The Viking invasions of the 8th and 9th centuries gave a clear Scandinavian influence on Anglo-Saxon law. It was only with the Norman conquest that Roman law, as enshrined in Franconian law, seized the laws of England. Anglo-Saxon Britain was not governed by one person and the Anglo-Saxons were not united. They invaded so many different tribes, and each took different parts of Britain. How many Anglo-Saxon kingdoms were there? There is no simple answer to this question. At first, the Anglo-Saxon peoples were divided into many small kingdoms. Gradually, larger realms began to emerge. At one point[b] a treaty was concluded after Wedmore, which established the lasting conditions for peace between the two kings, the so-called Treaty of Alfred and Guthrum.